Granny’s Dress Emporium


As promised, here is a picture of my sister Cath in the dress I made her for Christmas.  She loves it although has asked me to shorten it to above the knee (hussy!) as she and I have quite different styles.

I myself prefer a below the knee skirt which is still sexy provided you wear the right shoes and have nice calfs and ankles (particularly if you’re very tall like me).  Cath and my other sister Claire call me “Granny” due to my vintage inspired wardrobe and often conservative outfits.  What can I say, I’m a classy bird with a large collection of cardigans and headscarves!

Anyway, I’m sure you’ll agree that Cath looks gorgeous, she needs little help from me!

The fabric was from Mandors and it’s on sale right now if they have any left!

The pattern is a Simplicity one from the early 90s.

Cath wasn’t so keen on the headscarf/polo (turtle? where I come from it’s a polo neck and the collared t-shirt is a polo shirt!) neck combo, can’t imagine why!

I’ll do my best to pin Claire down and get a photo of her in her playsuit before she goes to Australia for 6 months on Monday!

About Konnie Kapow!

I spent most of my childhood believing that I didn't have a creative bone in my body but over the last 5 years have realised this was just a lack of confidence and self imposed limitations. I've spent the last three years running Konnie Kapow! an offbeat greeting card business and have recently started to make collars and harnesses for cats, ferrets and other small animals. I also run a sewing pattern swap / destash on facebook www.sewingpatternswap/facebook.com I love all kinds of needle craft; knitting, crochet, sewing, embroidery.... Most of what I know I have taught myself or learned through trial and error with some pretty amazing adopted mentors along the way! On the rare occasion I am not making something, I love music, books and wine!
This entry was posted in Sew help me! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

